Header - apple crates

About us

Two key horticultural industries in Tasmania amalgamated to create Fruit Growers Tasmania Inc and this development provided the new organisation with enhanced strength and new opportunities to support the Tasmanian Fruit Industry.

The amalgamation was a milestone in the history of the Industry. Since European settlement 200 years ago, fruit production has been an important part of the Tasmanian economy. Over the past century the Tasmanian Fruit Industry rose to world dominance before declining again due to the influence of international forces beyond its control.  Today, thanks to the dedication and commitment of many people over many years, we have a new, dynamic fruit industry, that is more diversified with many new growers and high level of new investment.

Fruit Growers Tasmania Inc is and will continue to be the peak body representing apple, pear, cherry, berry and stonefruit growers in Tasmania.

History of TSA and TAPGA

It is important to reflect on the work and achievements of the Tasmanian Stonefruit Association and the Tasmanian Apple and Pear Growers Association in creating opportunity for the industries’ future.

The TSA has represented the cherry, apricot, nectarine, peach and plum growers in Tasmania for 20 years prior. Many new growers have relied heavily on the contacts made through the Association to design and develop their orchards. During these 20 years the industry has grown from a few growers with a couple of thousand trees servicing mainly the local market to one of hundreds of thousands of trees, where the vast bulk of product is sent to the mainland and more recently overseas”.

TAPGA emerged from being a commodity council under the Farmers Federation in 1979. The first President was Murray McDonald with members including John Shield, Peter Calvert, R Wolfe, Michael Salter, L Griffiths and representing the northern growing regions were Bruce Hewitt, D Bulman and J Clark.  The following year saw Carl Hansen and Tom Reid join the Executive.  TAPGA was incorporated in 1992. A number of growers have given their time voluntarily to positions on the Executive over the years and their contribution is much appreciated. Rex Lansdell undertook the task of Public Officer & Association Secretary during all those years up until 1995 when the current office was opened.  Rex was also a very reliable source of this historical information.

Fruit Growers Tasmania Inc – Office Bearers and Committee Members

  • President: Nic Hansen
  • Vice President: Howard Hansen
  • Treasurer: John Evans
  • Andrew Scott
  • Chris Knapek
  • Dane Griggs
  • Dean Metcalf
  • Emma Sutherland
  • Ian Newnham
  • Sam Riggall
  • Scott Price

Peak Industry Body Representatives